Obesity Classes: What Obesity Class am I?

This article was medically reviewed by Op. Dr. Ahmet Şadi Kılınç

Reyap Hospital – Istanbul, Turkey

Reyap Hospital Exterior Design
Reyap Hospital Interior Design


To determine your obesity class, first calculate your Body Mass Index (BMI) by dividing your weight in kilograms by the square of your height in meters. Once you have your BMI:

  • A BMI of 30 to 34.9 falls into Class 1 obesity.
  • A BMI of 35 to 39.9 is considered Class 2 obesity.
  • A BMI of 40 or higher is categorized as Class 3 obesity.

Each obesity class carries distinct health risks:

  • Class 1 Obesity: Risks include increased chances of developing type 2 diabetes, hypertension, and certain cardiovascular diseases.
  • Class 2 Obesity: Higher likelihood of severe joint pain, sleep apnea, and more serious cardiovascular problems.
  • Class 3 Obesity: Elevated risk for life-threatening conditions such as heart failure, severe diabetes, and some cancers.

Yes, it is possible to move from a higher obesity class to a lower one or even to a normal weight range. This typically involves a combination of dietary changes, increased physical activity, behavioral modifications, and possibly medical interventions. Consulting with healthcare professionals can help create a personalized and effective weight loss plan.

Treatment approaches can vary depending on the obesity class:

  • Class 1 Obesity: Lifestyle changes like diet and exercise are often recommended. Behavioral therapy and medication may also be used.
  • Class 2 and Class 3 Obesity: In addition to lifestyle changes and medication, weight-loss surgery may be considered for those who have not achieved significant weight loss with other treatments.

Stay Connected With Us

Reyap Hospital provides 7/24 health care services by its qualified doctors and staff within international standards.